

In 1998, the General Assembly passed a bill allowing local health department's access to the Annapolis Data Center for the purpose of issuing Certified Copies of a Maryland Death Record (Death Certificate).

### **English**

Help is available in your language: 1-800-966-3877 (TTY: 711). Interpretation services are available for free.

#### Español/Spanish

Hay ayuda disponible en su idioma: 1-800-966-3877 (TTY: 711). Estos servicios están disponibles gratis.

### **Our Mission**

The Carroll County Health Department is dedicated to promoting community health and wellness by educating and protecting the public through collaboration with community partners.

### **Our Vision**

A safe and healthy community for all.

The Carroll County Health Department complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability in its health programs and activities.



### **Carroll County Health Dept.**

290 S. Center Street Westminster, MD 21157 Phone: 410-876-2152 Fax: 410-876-4812 CCHD.maryland.gov

### Carroll County Health Dept.





# MARYLAND DEATH CERTIFICATES

**OCTOBER 2017** 

## Where do I go to get a Certified Copy of a Maryland Death Record (Death Certificate)?

Death Certificates are issued by the Division of Vital Records (DVR) (for deaths occurring 1969 and thereafter) and the Local Health Departments (for deaths occurring 2015 or thereafter).

The DVR can process death certificates in person or by mail. For more information regarding these services please call 800-832-3277 or 410-764-3038, or visit www.health.maryland.gov/vsa/pages/apps.aspx.

The Carroll County Health Department (CCHD), issues certificates in person Monday, Tuesday and Friday 8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m. and Wednesday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. The cost is \$18 for the first certificate and \$20 for each additional certificate; we accept cash, check, or debit/credit card payments. Other health departments throughout the State also offer this service; please check with your local health department for details.

To apply on line you may process your application through an independent company that we partner with to provide this service. Visit <a href="https://www.vitalcheck.com">www.vitalcheck.com</a>. An additional fee is charged for this service, all major credit cards are accepted.

Death Certificates for deaths occurring prior to 1969 are available through the Maryland State Archives located in Annapolis. For more information call 410-260-6400.

### What will I need to present in order to receive a copy of a Death Certificate?

Valid, unexpired, government-issued photo ID, with an issue and expiration date must be supplied. This may include:

- Driver's license or ID card issued by the Motor Vehicle Administration
- US passport
- US military ID for active service personnel
- Prison ID
- School ID

#### What if I don't have photo ID?

Applicants who are unable to supply a photo ID must present two different pieces of alternative documentation, and at least one piece **must contain the applicant's current address**. (Note: These documents must be two different types (i.e. a pay stub and a telephone bill – not two pay stubs or two telephone bills). Acceptable forms of alternative documentation include:

pay stub

- utility bill
- car registration
- tax return
- bank statement
- copy of a W-2 form
- lease/rental agreement
- property deed
- letter from a government agency requesting the vital record

Alternate documentation must be current.



# How long does a doctor have to complete the death certificate before giving it to the funeral home?

The physician or medical examiner filling out a certificate of death shall give it to the funeral director within 24 hours of the death as required by State Law.

### How long does a funeral director have to file a certificate?

A funeral director that obtains a certificate of death shall file the certificate within 72 hours after the death as required by State Law.



### Who can apply for a death certificate?

The following persons may apply for a copy of a Death Certificate:

- The surviving relatives of the deceased.
- Authorized representative of a surviving relative of the deceased.
- Funeral director who was in charge of the final disposition of the body of the deceased.
- An individual who has a proven legal need.
- Any court of law.

### Which death certificates are available?

Certified copies of death certificates for deaths occurring 1969 or thereafter are available through the DVR. Certified copies of Death Certificate for deaths occurring 2015 or thereafter are available through the CCHD. Death certificates prior to 1969 are available through Maryland State Archives in Annapolis.

#### How long does it take to get a death certificate?

If the application is made in person, certificates can be received the same day, if photo identification is provided. If alternate documentation is provided the certificates will be mailed to you. Requests by mail (This service is provided by DVR ONLY) take approximately 3-4 weeks to process.

Please call 410-876-2152 for assistance from one of our knowledgeable staff.