Community Services – Death Certificates
Due to the current State of Emergency, The Carroll County Health Department is providing limited curbside services and virtual services to reduce the risk of customer exposure to COVID-19.
Certificates will be issued from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday by appointment only. Fees should be paid by credit/debit card over the phone if possible, or by cash or check at the time of the appointment.
If you need death certificate, please follow the process listed below:
To place an order:
- Call 410-876-4442 to make an appointment.
- Complete an application for a request for death certificate.
- Email the completed application to email@example.com or fax to 410-876-4812.
At your appointment time:
- Park in the front of the Health Department.
- Come to the front door and review the posted screening questions.
- Call 410-876-4442.
- Answer the screening questions.
- When you are cleared, you may enter the building. You must wear a cloth face covering or mask.
By Mail – Mail forms to:
o Division of Vital Records
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215
- By Internet – www.VitalChek.com
- By Phone – (410) 764-3038 #1
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause as we work to keep everyone safe.
Due to changes enacted in the legislative session, effective July 1, 2016, the Carroll County Health Department will be reducing its fees for printing Death Certificates. The fee for Death Certificates will be $18.00 for the first copy and $20.00 for each additional copy, a reduction of $6.00 for the first copy.
In addition, the Health Department will be expanding services to now issue Death Certificates to individuals as well as Funeral Directors. With the appropriate documentation we will be able to issue certificates to a surviving relative, an authorized representative, a beneficiary or an individual who wished to establish an estate in the name of the deceased and much more.
Further, the Health Department is expanding its hours to include evening services on Wednesday and Thursday evening until 7:00 p.m.
The Carroll County Health Department files and copies Carroll County resident death certificates. Death certificates can also be obtained through the Maryland State Division of Vital Records (DVR). For more information, call 800-832-3277 or 410-764-3038, or visit the Maryland Department of Health’s Death and Fetal Death Certificates page. Call the Carroll County Health Department at 410-876-2152 for more information.
Who Can Get a Death Certificate?
The following people can get a death certificate from the Carroll County Health Department:
- A surviving relative of the deceased
- An authorized representative of a relative of the deceased
- A funeral director who was in charge of the final disposition of the body of the deceased
- A person who is a beneficiary of the deceased
- An individual who has a proven legal need
- Court of law;
- and others with a proven need.
For a complete list please contact us at 410-876-2152. Death Certificates Expanded. You must bring identification and supporting documentation and pay the fee at the time of service.
How Do I Get a Death Certificate?
Application: You can print the application and fill it out before coming in, or fill out an application at the Health Department. Application Death Certificate Call the Carroll County Health Department at 410-876-2152 for more information.
Death Certificates are available Monday, Tuesday and Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m., and Wednesday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., same day service.
The fee is $18 for the first copy, and $20 for each additional copy. We accept cash, check, or debit/credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover).